Oh yeah, I have a blog

Howdy, folks.  Sorry it’s been a little while since I’ve posted anything.  Like I said before, it’s strange how living totally gets in the way of writing blog posts.  You see, I’ve kinda got a lot on my plate at this point in my life.

I’ve got the MovNat certification coming up very soon in Boston on the 23rd which I’m getting ready for in a few ways.  For one, I was supplied with a 131 page MovNat manual which I’ve been reading sporadically for the past couple of weeks.  I know, 131 pages isn’t very long but I’m not the most dedicated reader.  I have no problem reading a chapter or two at a time but it’s not long before I just want to get up and move around (some might call it ADD?), especially when reading about movement..  That’s actually also part of the reason why I’ve not been posting very frequently on here, too.  Moving is just too much fun this time of year which makes it quite difficult to sit and write up a post, especially one of long duration.

So I hope you guys don’t get mad if I can only offer occasional shorter posts in the near future and save the longer ones for a less busy time in my life.  I’m guessing that once school starts back up I’ll  be able to dedicate more time to this thing, even if it might be in the library when I’m supposed to be doing homework…

Other than having to read the MovNat manual before the 23rd, I’ve obviously also got to practice moving naturally which takes up another significant chunk of my time.  Luckily, one of the beautiful aspects of MovNat is that you can do a lot of in pretty much any location.  It’s very easy to improvise a little workout in just an empty room or small yard that can leave me gasping for air and muscles burning.  Although, there’s definitely things which I really enjoy that require a more natural setting such as lifting and carrying logs and rocks around or climbing up trees, etc.  However, it’s been a bit difficult to do such things lately because the mosquitoes have been absolutely nuts!  Most of the time I can just ignore them when it’s only a handful of them trying to steal mah juices, but when I’m getting swarmed trying to carry a big ol’ rock that just ain’t cool.  I’m sure a big part of the reason for this has to do with how it’s just been pretty warm and wet lately which are ideal conditions for them to thrive, but there’s also the fact that bat populations across the country (maybe even the world?) have been plummeting due to a disease known as white-nose syndrome.  It’s a foreign fungus that thrives in conditions typical of caves which bats like to roost in and has been wreaking absolute havoc on North American bats.

This is bad for a few reasons.  For one, bats are the only mammals that have evolved the amazing ability of flight, which I think is awesome and is definitely a good enough reason to try to keep them around.  The other reason which more directly affects apes like you and I, is simply that bats eat A LOT of flying insects like mosquitoes.  When you remove bats from the ecological equation, you’re left with quite a few more mosquitoes to prey on our mostly hairless, exposed bodies.  Also, without bats there wouldn’t be Batman, or vampires, or other cool things like that… so yeah, bats are pretty important.

And yeah, that need to move is totally getting to me pretty hard right now.  Think I might go somewhere for a nice, chill paddleboard session since it’s much too buggy in the woods right now.

However, I can’t go without mentioning this pretty awesome event going on right now called the Ancestral Health Symposium.  I really, really which I could be attending that but the tickets sold out many months ago, unfortunately.  It’s basically a collection of really smart, ancestral-health minded people who give presentations on various topics related to ancestral health.  It started last year at UCLA and is at Harvard this year, which is another reason why I’m pissed I’m not there since it’s so damn close…

On top of that, another species of human was discovered in Africa that was around about 2 million years ago called Homo rudolfensis.  That means that in addition to us (Homo sapiens) and Homo erectus, there was a third human ape kickin’ it in Africa as well.  I’ll be back later to discuss this further.

*Edit* Aaand I did promise to talk about this more so here goes:

I’d like to address this topic further now, starting with a quote from the article:

“Our past was a diverse past,” she told BBC News, “our species was evolving in the same way that other species of animals evolved. There was nothing unique about us until we began to make sophisticated stone tools.”

I thought it was kinda interesting that this was brought up, considering to me it is blatantly obvious that we are simply an incredibly smart animal (though sometimes people do things that make me feel the opposite) who’ve figured out how to use tools in diverse and ingenious ways to manipulate the environment. Then I remembered that the article wasn’t exactly written by a scientist who is aware of the abundant evidence supporting this, but rather by some journalist at BBC whose scientific knowledge might better reflect that of the general populous. This got me thinking of a statistic I read the other day that said only 40% of Americans believe in evolution..  Having been a Wildlife Ecology major for a few years and eventually switching to Anthropology, this is something I have difficulty fathoming.  For pretty much any science-related major (particularly one dealing with biology), it is not only essential to believe in evolution, but it’s practically the foundation for the majority of the information used during your academic career.  Ignoring evolution for a life-science major is kind of like trying to read and write without knowing the alphabet… or trying to study geology without knowing about plate tectonics.  There’s actually a pretty famous quote by a guy named Theodosius Dobzhansky who was an evolutionary biologist back in the ’70’s that goes like this:

“Nothing in Biology Makes Sense Except in the Light of Evolution”

When I say this is a ‘pretty famous quote’, I mean among the small minority of scientifically-literate (specifically in respect to biology) folks (no offense to those who hadn’t heart of it!).  Unfortunately, science is in large part not appropriately prioritized in the American education system as it should be.  This is, in my opinion, a huge fault of the education system for multiple reasons.  For one, scientific-ignorance results in the situation we have today where only 40% of the country doesn’t believe a theory that has copious amounts of evidence supporting it dating back to the 1850’s… or how a large percentage either doesn’t believe in climate change or doesn’t think it’s at all human-induced…

In regards to evolution, the main argument people make against it is that it’s “just a theory!”  That statement right there reveals just how large a gap there is between scientific-literate folks and those who aren’t.  This is because people don’t understand a (if not the) most fundamental scientific process known as the scientific method.  I like Wikipedia’s definition of it:

“Scientific method is a body of techniques for investigating phenomena, acquiring new knowledge, or correcting and integrating previous knowledge.”

In other words, it’s the process we use to learn and understand things about the Universe.  It is a self-correcting process, meaning that when a hypothesis is found to be false for any reason it gets rejected.  When a hypothesis is constantly tested over and over and doesn’t get rejected it gets to graduate to a scientific theory, which is not the same as the commonly used term ‘theory’ most people use sometimes like “I have a theory that the bar will be very crowded tonight,” or something like that.  In that context, theory essentially can be replaced with ‘guess’ or ‘hunch’.  Scientific theory such as the theory of evolution is only a theory because it has passed lots and lots of tests over many years and still hasn’t been rejected.  Scientific theories are essentially no different from scientific laws such as the law of gravity, it’s just that in the case of evolution it’s very difficult to ‘prove’ that it should be considered a law because it’s a process that occurs so slowly over such a long period; you can’t see evolution happening in that sense that you can see the power of gravity bring a ball back to the Earth’s surface.  Hence, it remains an extremely well-tested theory.

Anyway, science is pretty darned important stuff that people need to be more aware of, as you can hopefully now see… Time for me to go play in the woods now.

*End of Edit*

In the mean time, I’m going to to the opposite of the title of this song which I enjoy:

3 thoughts on “Oh yeah, I have a blog

Leave a Reply

