Beach MovNat

I made a little video of my MovNat combo this morning. As you can see from the video, I started by climbing up a rock face, jumped down and rolled upon hitting the ground into a decently fast sprint. I then ran into the water where I shallow-dove and swam a bit out and then back in (there were a lot of large rocks which I almost tripped over coming out of the water.. MovNat mistake: always check your workout area prior to moving to avoid dangerous obstacles). Next I ran up the beach to a rock which I picked up and chest-carried it while balancing on a log with a couple split squats thrown in. After that I dead lifted the log and side-shuffled it a few feet out and then back a couple times. Following that I bear-crawled and crab-walked down to the rock face before standing up and climbing it again to repeat the combo. I did that a few times until I felt satisfied.

Afterwards I sat on the empty beach for a few minutes to rest and just appreciate being able to play around in such a cool little place. One thing I’ve been learning lately, especially during my time at the Maine Primitive Skills School, is that it’s important to express gratitude when it’s appropriate to do so; that just makes the whole experience more fulfilling and usually helps to solidify the memories a bit deeper so that lessons can be more effectively retained.

I haven’t been doing combo workouts much lately since I’ve been too busy with my apprenticeship up at the Primitive School, but I happened to be home for the weekend since my little cousin’s wedding was on Saturday. That was actually the first wedding I remember going to (apparently I went to one when I was like 4?). It was awesome seeing my cousin and her new husband get married; they’re definitely quite in love and I’m super happy for them πŸ™‚ Love is something I’ve often felt is largely missing from my life, with the exception of that which I receive from my amazing friends and family of course πŸ˜‰ But seeing such powerful loving energy from my cousin and her hubby first hand really hit home the fact that I’ve largely been missing that in my life.. It’s undoubtedly partly my fault since I’m mostly really bad at showing affection, though that may have to do with my upbringing since my family hasn’t been the most affectionate (hugs were a rarity for sure). Well, my dad wasn’t against giving hugs and telling me and my bro he loved us, but my mom was raised from a rather… proper family where such behavior wasn’t really encouraged to say the least.. BUT ALAS, I’m optimistic and know that my time will come! Not necessarily marriage per se, but who knows what the Universe has in store? I’m continually surprised and impressed by its unfolding πŸ™‚

Anywayyy tomorrow there’s a “Neanderthal Gymnastics” class and I’m not entirely sure what that will entail, but it sounds right up my alley πŸ™‚ And Wednesday a Native Awareness 5 day class is starting which I’m stoked for. I’ve already taken it once and it blew my mind. I can’t wait to go through that stuff again and hopefully experience some new things, too. I’ll try to post regularly for this class so that people can have an understanding of what it’s about. Suffice it to say that’s it’s awesome and enlightening for now, though. πŸ™‚

2 thoughts on “Beach MovNat

  1. you live in a pretty amazing place. all your videos have fantastic scenes of nature.

Leave a Reply

